The Darlington Schoolhouse was designed by noted Newport, Rhode Island architect Dudley Newton. The 1891 construction of the building was financed by businessmen Theodore A. Havemeyer and Alfred B. Darling. The unique building is an example of the wealth brought into the Mahwah area by New York City industrialists during the last quarter of the nineteenth century. The structure incorporates features of the Richardsonian Romanesque, the Stick Style, and the Shingle Style. The school closed in 1944. Following a number of ownership changes the building has been vacant for 20 years.
The 2006 Trust grant helped fund helped fund the preparation of construction documents for the exterior restoration and interior rehabilitation of the building and supported the preparation of a preservation plan and National Register nomination. The 2008 grant will help fund rehabilitation of the administrative headquarters for the trail conference.
For more information, visit: